The Speaker of the GPL oversees the (overall) management of the Legislature. The Speaker also forms part of the sittings of the House and keeps control of all the debates that take place in the House.

The Speaker has a Deputy Speaker who stands in for them in their absence from the sittings of the House. Both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are MPLs, who are elected into their positions by other MPLs. The Chairperson of Committees co-ordinates the work of Committees and presides when both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are absent.

The Provincial Secretary or Secretary to the Legislature is the only office bearer who is not an elected official. The Secretary is the administrative head of the Legislature, a role which can be understood as the organisation’s CEO. The Secretary is responsible for managing the staff of the Legislature, whose daily work is to provide a support service to the MPLs. Executive Directors, Directors and Managers in different service functional streams in the GPL answer to the Secretary.

The Chief Whip (of the Legislature) is the most senior whip and is elected from the political party with the most MPLs in the House. Party Whips are the people who organise the work of MPLs in party caucuses. They are they are the people who decide which MPL will sit in which Committee.

Apart from the Secretary of the Legislature, all Office Bearers are MPLs. They are appointed to their positions by either their parties or by the House.

Presiding Officers

Speaker Lentheng Helen Ntombi Mekgwe [view profile]

Deputy Speaker Nomvuyo Memory Mhlakaza-Manamela [view profile]

Chairperson of Committees Emelda Sizakele Malobane [view profile]

Deputy Chairperson of Committees Mpapa Jeremia Kanyane [view profile]

Party Leaders

Mzikayifani Khumalo — African National Congress

Solly Msimanga — Democratic Alliance

Itani Edwin Mukwevho — Economic Freedom Fighters

Bonginkosi Dhlamini — Inkatha Freedom Party

Philip van Staden — Freedom Front Plus

Committee Chairpersons

Governance & Administration Cluster

Committee on the Scrutiny of Subordinate Legislation (CSSL) Dulton Keith Adams (ACDP)

Oversight Committee on the Premier’s Office & the Legislature (OCPOL) Bonginkosi Wesley Dhlamini (IFP)

Petitions Boitumelo Ezra Letsoalo (ANC) (Chairperson)

Privileges and Ethics Nomvuyo Memory Mhlakaza-Manamela (ANC)

Programming Lentheng Helen Mekgwe (ANC)

Rules Lentheng Helen Mekgwe (ANC)

Standing Committee on Public Accounts (SCOPA) Emelda Sizakele Nkosi-Malobane (ANC)

Social Transformation Cluster

Community Safety Alphina Ndlovana (ANC)

COGTA (Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs) Kedibone Diale (ANC)

Education Matome Kopano Chiloane (ANC)

Health Rebecca Mauwane Phaladi-Digamela (ANC)

Social Development Morakane Mosupye (ANC)

SRAC (Sport, Recreation Arts and Culture) William Mathafeng Matsheke (ANC)

Economic Transformation Cluster

EDEARD (Economic Development, Environment, Agriculture and Rural Development) Landiwe Jane Lasindwa (ANC)

Finance Joe Mpisi (ANC)

Infrastructure Development Mpho Gift Modise (ANC)

Roads & Transport Gregory Schneemann (ANC)


Secretary Peter Skosana