Being the Parliament of the Province, the Legislature is a House comprising the Speaker (who Heads up the Legislature) and Members of the Provincial Legislature (MPLs) from various political parties, as per the vote of the Gauteng Province.

Political parties get seats in the Legislature through a system of proportional representation – meaning, the party with the majority of votes gets the majority of MPLs in the House.