The Gauteng Provincial Legislature (GPL) is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa.

Based in Johannesburg, GPL  is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public debate, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive.

GPL consists of 73 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and members of the provincial Cabinet are appointed from these Members.

This website contains information about GPL’s role and function, news, activities including sittings, committee meetings, Members of the Provincial Legislature, legislation, publications, business and career opportunities.