# WHAT IS THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

The Electoral Commission (IEC) is an independent, impartial institution established by Chapter 9 of the Constitution of South Africa to strengthen constitutional democracy. The Commission manages national, provincial and municipal elections. It makes sure these elections are free, fair and credible through the participation of citizens, political parties and civil society.

# What does the IEC do?

- The IEC manages national, provincial and municipal elections, including referendums.
- It makes sure that elections are free and fair.
- It announces the results of elections within seven days.
- It compiles and updates the national common voters' roll.



# What are the functions of the IEC?

- To promote conditions to ensure free and fair elections
- To compile and update the national common voters' roll
- To compile and update the register of political parties
- · To administer elections

- To promote knowledge of electoral voter processes
- To work and partner with key stakeholders
- To review the legislation that applies to elections
- To educate voters





### What makes elections free and fair?

- There is clear legislation governing the election.
- All candidates and parties can campaign without intimidation and restriction.
- Every registered voter can vote, irrespective of race, gender, sexual orientation or disability.

- All citizens can express their political views.
- Elections are conducted, managed and administered impartially and transparently.
- All parties accept the election results.



## What is the structure of the IEC?

- At the head of the IEC is a five-member Commission, one of whom must be a judge.
- The Commissioners are appointed for seven years by the President of South Africa. Their term can be renewed only once.
- The Commissioners appoint a Chief Electoral Officer, who is ithe head of the administration and is the accounting officer for the Commission. The Chief Electoral Officer appoints employees.



The IEC has a national office in Tswane, Gauteng. It also has provincial electoral offices in each of the nine provinces, and aabout 250 local offices.



### **About the Electoral Commission**

The Electoral Commission is an independent, impartial institution established by Chapter 9 of the Constitution. It manages national, provincial and municipal elections. It makes sure these elections are credible, free and fair.

**National Office** 

Tel: 012 622 5700 info@elections.org.za www.elections.org.za

Contact centre: 0800 11 8000 (during elections)

### **Contact Provincial Offices**

Eastern Cape: 043 709 4200
Free State: 051 401 5000
Gauteng: 011 644 7400
KwaZulu-Natal: 031 279 2200
Limpopo: 015 283 9100
Mpumalanga: 013 754 0200
North West: 018 391 0800/5
Northern Cape: 053 838 5000
Western Cape: 021 910 5700

